Daily Hedges


Seventy. Good Food Weekend.
March 14, 2011, 11:14 am
Filed under: food | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The weekend just gone was great, most notably for the food consumed.

Friday night, I made the mustard chicken recipe fro Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals book (recipe HERE). The whole premise annoys me because all of the meals take longer than 30 minutes unless you have all of the equipment and a massive kitchen. It turned out great though, except I had to cut the chicken into pieces and cook them rather than whole breasts because it was taking too long. I also made garlic and rosemary roasted baby new potatoes which were insanely good.

Saturday I made peanut butter brownies (recipe HERE) which are amazing but pretty much death on a plate. In the afternoon,  we went to Fire & Stone and I had the Acapulco pizza, like this:

 

ACAPULCO PIZZA

It was incredible. Slow cooked beef, jalapeños, red onion and then guacamole and sour cream in the middle. So good.

Sunday I made more garlic and rosemary roast baby new potatoes with some Aberdeen Angus beef and mustard sausages (from Asda).

Today I am suffering a food hangover and probably need to stop eating so much calorific food as my pot belly is ever expanding.

Also, today has been the first time I’ve had a chance to properly read and watch stuff to do with the earthquake and tsunami in Japan. It’s insane – watching the video HERE and it just doesn’t look real. I can’t actually process that that really happened, it just looks really odd. Also, the images HERE are staggering. All of those buildings just totally annihilated. I read that there is a tonne of weight in every cubic meter of water in the tsunami, which is a properly incomprehensible amount of power.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] of food, Gareth Hedges’ post on his “good food weekend” is enough to get the mouth watering and the taste-buds tingling. Plus he has a fancy new site […]

Pingback by Picks of the Week: Week 10 « The One A Day Project

Lovely post, yum! Also really like the new site design.

Comment by beatifnik

A cubic meter of water weighs a tonne everywhere, it doesn’t matter if it’s in a tsunami, it’s how metric weights were originally derived. Interesting fact of the day. But yeah, it’s awful and terrifying.

Comment by Dan Friel

Gem – Thank you!

Dan – I figured that but that weight going that fast is what is so terrifying. I have worded it like a spazz though.

Comment by Hedges




Leave a comment